Curtain Cal for Martha Argerich with Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia 10.20.17

The rarely performed Sinfonia that Verdi wrote for the La Scala premiere of Aida is a full-fledged overture that reflects themes from the opera, while Respighi’s Fountains of Rome and Pines of Rome are spectacularly orchestrated tone poems that evoke the beauty of the Eternal City. To add to the festivities, Martha Argerich returns to Carnegie Hall after a nine-year absence to play Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 3—one of her specialties.
Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia (Rome)
Sir Antonio Pappano, Music Director and Conductor
Martha Argerich, Piano
VERDI Sinfonia from Aida
PROKOFIEV Piano Concerto No. 3
RESPIGHI Fountains of Rome
RESPIGHI Pines of Rome

Translate »